Oatmeal in a FLASH!

I really love oatmeal for breakfast. Smooth. Warm. Sweet. Mmmm.

Once upon a time, my family loved it too. In the last year so, it has lost its appeal with my children. It gets old hearing sighs of disappointment when you serve food, doesn’t it? I tried variations, which were met with similar reactions.

I decided to make an instant oatmeal for myself. As you might guess, once I did, they LOVED it! I have made it three times now and we have all enjoyed it. I love how inexpensive, nutritious and easy it is.

After reading several other people’s recipes and adapting those, here it is!

DIY Instant Oatmeal

  • 2 cups toasted oats
  • 6 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup powdered milk
  • 1 cup sugar (I use a combination of powdered and brown)
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Pulse briefly in food processor. Use 1/3 cup of oat mixture with 1/2 cup boiling water. Allow to sit 2-3 minutes and enjoy. Optional add ins – cinnamon, vanilla, maple syrup or flavoring, dried fruits or nuts.

DIY Instant Oatmeal

DIY Instant Oatmeal

By using toasted oats, it brings out a slightly nutty flavor. If you prefer. use all plain old fashioned oats.
By using toasted oats, it brings out a slightly nutty flavor. If you prefer. use all plain old fashioned oats.
When you pulse the oats, do it for a couple of seconds at a time. The goal is to leave some oats still intact for texture, but you can adjust this according to your preference as well.
When you pulse the oats, do it for a couple of seconds at a time. The goal is to leave some oats still intact for texture, but you can adjust this according to your preference as well.
I store this in a Tupperware container, with the directions written on the side in a water-erase marker.
I store this in a Tupperware container, with the directions written on the side in a water-erase marker.
Every time I make this, I am concerned that it seems to be too much water. Just stir it and leave it!
Every time I make this, I am concerned that it seems to be too much water. Just stir it and leave it!
So yummy!
So yummy!
3 thoughts on “Oatmeal in a FLASH!

  1. I am way more intrigued by this idea than someone who does not eat oatmeal should be. It is such a fun recipe! Maybe I should try again to get my kids to like oatmeal.

    1. Maybe you should! I am seriously stunned at the change in attitude about oatmeal here. In fact, one daughter even wanted it for a snack yesterday! If you try it, let us hear about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

